www.sannasa.com

Democracy Prevails: Sri Lanka is back on track



The historic but surprise win by Maithripala Sirisena over the ex-President Mahinda Rajapaksa whose sudden and unsuspected fall from power after a decade was indeed a win for democracy emboldened by Mahinda Rajapaksa's



graceful act of departure from power even before the Elections Commissioner announced the results, ceding defeat and congratulating his opponent, and vacating Temple Trees a day after the election, were the hallmarks of democracy embedded in the annals of Sri Lanka's heritage. It was resonant with similar acts of Wijeyananda Dahanayake and Ranil Wickramasinghe who left Temple Trees immediately after their defeats as Prime Ministers on previous occasions. Dahanayake packed up his suitcase and took a Galle-bound bus from the bus halt on Galle Road in front of Temple Trees while Ranil Wickramasinghe went back in his car.

Maithripala Sirisena was sworn in as the Executive President and Ranil Wickramasinghe as the Prime Minister at Independence Square in the midst of a large crowd of people who were rejoicing the victory and eager to see the Presidentelect and the new Prime Minister.

Maithripala Sirisena may now work on his promised task of getting rid of corruption, nepotism; semi-dictatorial tendencies that prevailed in some sectors of the government in his 100-day program and take initial steps to put the country on the right track on its journey towards unity, tranquillity and prosperity. The support of TNA and SLMC and other minor parties swelled the number of votes in the North and East, and the Nuwara Eliya-Maskeliya polling division to unprecedented heights:

> Maithripala Sirisena polled 6,217,162 (51.29 per cent) in the 12 electoral districts and Mahinda Rajapaksa secured 5,768,090 votes (47.58 per

Maithripala Sirisena won by a majority of 449.072 votes

Communal harmony is, no doubt, a cementing element in making a united, peaceful and prosperous country. It may be essential to harness this source, within justifiable limits, as the new government embarks on its journey towards its set goals.

This election has been devoid of major crimes, loss of lives and property mainly due to the efficiency of the police, the armed forces and the dedicated public officers in the organisation and the management of election work. Above all, we should thank the general public for showing maturity in the conduct of public business

It is well to remember the following Buddhist scripture:

Nahi verena verani. Sammantida kudachanan Averenacha sammanti. esa dhammo sanantano: meaning

Hatred is never appeased by hatred; it is appeased by non-hatred. This is the eternal law.

(Dhamma pada: yamaka vaggo, stanza 5)

නව ඇමති මණ්ඩලය

ජනාධිපති මෛතීපාල සිරිසේන මහතා විසින් පත් කරන ලැබ නව අමාතු මණ්ඩලයේ කැබිනට් අමාතයවරු 27ක් ද රජය අමාතයවරු 11 දෙනෙකු හා නියෝජ්ය අමාතයවරු 8 දෙනෙකුද ජනාධිපති ලේකම්කාර්යාලයේදී ජනාධිපති මෛතීපාල සිරි-සේන මහතා ඉදිරියේ දිවුරුම් දුන්හ.

කැබිනට් අමාත්වරු

අගුාමාතෳ රනිල් විකුමසිංහ - පුතිපත්ති සම්පාදන හා ආර්ථික කටයුතු

පෝන් අමතුංග - මහජන සාමය, ආපදා කළමනාකරණය හා කිස්තියාන කටයුතු ජෝශප් මයිකල් පෙරේරා - ස්වදේශ කටයුතු ගාමිට ජයවිතුම පෙරේරා - ආහාර සුරක්ෂිතාව මංගල සමරවීර - විදේශ කටයුතු කරු ජයසූරිය - බුද්ධ ශාසන ලක්ෂ්මන් කිරිඇල්ල - වැවිලි කර්මාන්ත රවී කරුණානායක - මුදල් රවුෆ් හකීම් - නාගරික සංවර්ධන, ජලසම්පාදන හා ප්ලාපවාහන චම්පික පාඨලී රණවක - ව්දලිබල හා බලශක්ති රාජිත සේනාරත්න - සෞඛ¤ දුමින්ද දිසානායක - වාරිමාර්ග කබීර් හමීම් - මහාමාර්ග හා ආයෝජන පුවර්ධන එම්.කේ.ඩී.එස්.ගුණවර්ධන - ඉඩම් සපිත් පේමදාස - නිවාස හා සමෘද්ධි විම්දාස රාජපක්ෂ - අධිකරණ ගයන්ත කරුණාතිලක - ජනමාධෳ නවීන් දිසානායක - සංචාරක අර්ජුන රණතුංග - වරාය හා නාවික ඩී.ඒ.ස්වාමිනාදන් - නැවත පදිංචිකිරීම්, ඉදිකිරීම් හා හින්දු කටයුතු අකිල ව්රාජ් කාරියවසම් - අධනපන තලතා අතුකොරළ - විදේශ රැකියා ර්ෂාඩ් බදුයුදීන් - කර්මාන්ත හා වාණිජ පී. නැරිසන් - සමාජසේවා නා සුබසාධන ් රංජිත් මද්දුම බණ්ඩාර - අභෳන්තර පුවාහන චන්දුාණි බණ්ඩාර - කාන්තා කටයුතු

පී. දිගම්බරම් - වතු යටිතල පහසුකම් සංවර්ධන

රාජ්‍ය අමාත්‍යවරු

නන්දිම්ත ඒකනායක - සංස්කෘතික හා කලා කටයුතු රාධා කිුෂ්ණන් - අධනපන ෆයිසර් මුස්තෆා - ගුවන්සේවා පාලිත රංගේ බණ්ඩාර - විදුලිබල හා බලශක්ති දිලිප් වෙදුආරච්චි - ධීවර රෝසි සේනානායක - ළමා කටයුතු රජීව විම්සිංහ - උසස් අධනපන රුවන් විම්වර්ධන - ආරක්ෂක කේ. වේලායුධන් - වැව්ලි හා කුඩා කර්මාන්ත - – නිරෝෂන් පෙරේරා - තරුණ කටයුතු

නියෝජ් අමාත්වරු

චම්පික පේමදාස - කර්මාන්ත හා වාණිජ නර්ෂද සිල්වා - පුතිපත්ති සම්පාදක හා ආර්ථික කටයුතු එරාන් විකුමරත්න - මහාමාර්ග හා ආයෝජන පවර්ධන සුජීව සේනසිංහ - අධිකරණ වසන්ත සේනානායක - සංචාරක විජයකලා මහේෂ්වරන් - කාන්තා කටයුතු

Tutoring

22 years of experience in tutoring in Melbourne with Proven Results!

Coaching for

- Mathematics for Primary and Secondary
- VCE Mathematics: Mathematical Methods, General Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Specialist Mathematics
- VCE Physics
- English from Primary to year 9
- Science for Secondary
- Scholarship and Selective School exams Melbourne High, Mac.Robertson, Suzanne Corv, Uni High, John Monash, Ivanhoe Grammar, Trinity Grammar, Melbourne Grammar, PEGS, etc.

Small groups - up to 4 students.....! Individual classes on request

Neranjana Kudaligama 0408 356 821

Masters in Accounting (La Trobe)
B. Applied Science (Computer Science
and Software Engineering) (Swinburre)
Civil Eng. (Moratuwa)
Ex. Teacher, VSL - Roxburgh Park Sinhala School

Hemantha Devendra 0409 854 597

VIT Registered Teacher Post Grad. Dip Edu.(La Trobe)

B. Design (Industrial Design) (RMIT)

Mech Eng (Moratuwa)